I wanna be with you, where you are, and you’re the servant of all…

October 20, 2008

The Lord has had me in the beginning part of John 13 for the last 4 or 5 days.

It is truly an amazing passage of scripture.

I realized early last week that I have drifted away from pressing in wholeheartedly to studying the sermon on the mount and really giving myself to living the sermon on the mount lifestyle. I believe that this is something that we need to have constantly before us; Matthew 5, 6, and 7. If we believe that this is the culture of His kingdom, then I believe it is a valid thing to give ourselves to studying unto living for the rest of our lives. So, I felt the Lord drawing me back to this early last week. I felt lead by the Spirit to really get a firm grip on humility. In order for me to live humble, I need to gaze upon the God who is altogether humble. My heart will be fueled by the reality of His beautiful humility and in light of that revelation grace will be poured out to live humbly just as He is humble. Many people want to point out areas of pride, and expect that to be fuel for our heart to live humbly. However, I have been seriously convicted that it is not the filth of sin that will draw men to God, but rather the goodness of God that will draw men radically, in abandonment of all other things, to God. So, the solution to my lack of humility, is to gaze upon Jesus in His humility. In essence, it is a knowledge of God issue.

I felt lead immediately to begin to study the passage where Jesus washes the feet of the disciples and I have been stuck in this passage ever since. We all know the story of Jesus at the Feast of Passover, taking off His outer garment, clothing Himself in a towel, and kneeling down to wash the disciples feet.

He comes to Peter and Peter says,

“Lord, do you wash my feet?”

“What I am doing you do not understand now, but afterward you will understand.”

“You shall never wash my feet.”

“If I do not wash you, you have no share with me.”

This conversation has held me captive, and drawn me into deep understanding of my own depravity and level of pride that so often appears to be noble humility. Jesus, in the midst of my darkness, kneels before me to wash my feet, and I arrogantly express that

1) I do not need it.

2) that I can do it myself.

3) that He doesn’t have to do it in public.

These of course are outrageous claims to the face of my Savior. You will never wash my feet! And He says so softly, that if He does not wash me, I have no share with Him. He whispers gently, this is why I came, to cleanse you, to wash you, to show you how to serve, to love, to show you the eternal character of my Father.

This has been my meditation point, and I encourage you to embark upon this same thing for a season, “If I do not wash you, you have no share with me.”

The world will not humble herself to say she is needy, unable to accomplish what only God can, or too good to have to have it done now. We must live in a place where we say that we are needy of the cleansing! We cannot do it ourselves! Do it in front of whoever you want to Lord! I AM POOR AND NEEDY AND IF YOU DO NOT WASH ME, I HAVE NO SHARE WITH YOU!

One other thing in this passage is verse 12.

When he had washed their feet and put on his outer garments and resumed his place…”

This is such a picture of the Lord Jesus, removing His outer garment (His place as a deity), putting on a towel, (clothing Himself in flesh), kneeling before us (descending to earth), washing our feet (dying on the cross), putting back on His outer garment (glorified body) and resuming His place, (ascending again to the right hand of the Father!) What an amazing revelation!

If I do not wash you, you have no share with me. If I do not become sin for you, you have no share with me.

I have included a page with all my support information on it, and in what ways I am in need of support now.

3 Responses to “I wanna be with you, where you are, and you’re the servant of all…”

  1. aslade Says:

    Wow. This is truly powerful. The Lord is releasing revelation to you Wesley! I am so glad that I get to share in it! God is so amazing to reveal Himself to us weak and horrible humans. But He humbles Himself to do it! Praise the Lord! So good!

  2. Marie Says:

    Wes,

    This is so beautiful. I have never heard this pictured in the way you have described. So simple, so revealing of who Jesus really is.

    Your words bless me. I pray the Humble King blesses you beyond measure.

    Marie Hill

  3. JeraldD Says:

    Wes,

    Your maturity in the word is shining forth. Is there more evidence of depravity in man than pride?
    Thank you so much for this word. I’ll be a regular reader from here on out.
    God bless you Wes.
    –Jerald


Leave a Reply

