Hymns are Gorgeous

May 6, 2009

I have been falling in love with these hymns recently. The Lord has really been ministering to me in incredible ways.

O Love that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in thee;
I give thee back the life I owe,
That in thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.

O light that followest all my way,
I yield my flickering torch to thee;
My heart restores its borrowed ray,
That in thy sunshine’s blaze its day
May brighter, fairer be.

O Joy that seekest me through pain,
I cannot close my heart to thee;
I trace the rainbow through the rain,
And feel the promise is not vain,
That morn shall tearless be.

O Cross that liftest up my head,
I dare not ask to fly from thee;
I lay in dust life’s glory dead,
And from the ground there blossoms red
Life that shall endless be.
–George Matheson

And this one is my favorite:

In the secret of His presence how my soul delights to hide!
Oh, how precious are the lessons which I learn at Jesus’ side!
Earthly cares can never vex me, neither trials lay me low;
For when Satan comes to tempt me, to the secret place I go,
To the secret place I go.

When my soul is faint and thirsty, ’neath the shadow of His wing
There is cool and pleasant shelter, and a fresh and crystal spring;
And my Savior rests beside me, as we hold communion sweet:
If I tried, I could not utter what He says when thus we meet,
What He says when thus we meet.

Only this I know: I tell Him all my doubts, my griefs and fears;
Oh, how patiently He listens! and my drooping soul He cheers:
Do you think He ne’er reproves me? What a false Friend He would be,
If He never, never told me of the sins which He must see,
Of the sins which He must see.

Would you like to know the sweetness of the secret of the Lord?
Go and hide beneath His shadow: this shall then be your reward;
And whene’er you leave the silence of that happy meeting place,
You must mind and bear the image of the Master in your face,
Of the Master in your face.

Sandra Mccracken has a CD out called “The Builder and the Architect” which is just her doing hymns. On this CD she sings “In the Secret of His Presence” and it is the most beautiful thing.

I am reading a book called “The Pleasures of God: Meditations on God’s Delight in Being God” by John Piper and it is changing my life! I suggest you read it!

Bless you all, the Lord has been doing incredible things here at IHOP-AC and in me!

I will be visiting Atlanta in a few weeks for about a month! Love you all dearly!

2 Responses to “Hymns are Gorgeous”

  1. Kirsten Says:

    I love you bud
    Your hymn is so well written, I love it!!!

  2. Robert Says:

    Thanks for posting Ellen Goreh’s lovely gospel song, “In the Secret of His Presence.” Today is the 156th anniversary of her birth. If you’d like to know a bit more about this remarkable woman, I encourage you to check out my blog for today on Wordwise Hymns. God bless.


Leave a Reply

