Bondslaves

July 17, 2009

Hello my dear friends!

Please before you say, “how dare he address us in such flippant language as if he hasn’t done something to deserve our animosity! For crying out loud he’s been gone for practically two months without a single word about his whereabouts or anything! If he thinks we’re going to befriend him again so quickly after he left us out in the cold the way he did, he sure has another thing coming!” let me explain myself. There really is a rather wonderful explanation for why I have not been blogging these past few months. What I mean to say is, I have plenty of reasons why this blog seems to have died. I am telling you, there is a practical reason that once you hear it you will be completely relieved and even happy in fact that I have not been blogging. I assure you, I have good reasons. You see….I have not been blogging on this blog for two months because…

Anyways, with that out of the way, I’ll get to blogging…. 🙂

I want to start a topic here on my blog about the effect of American ideology on our approach to God.

During our intercession set the other day at IHOP-AC we were praying for God to break in and open the Bride in the nation to deeper places of surrender to His callings and purposes. We were crying out for a people that would truly surrender to God. It has been something that the Lord has been highlighting in my own walk with Him for the last few weeks and a very convicting time sitting at His feet listening to Him speak to me about no compromise even in the seemingly little things.

“Make my life a prayer to You, I wanna do what You want me to, no empty words and no white lies, no token prayers, no compromise…” (Keith and Melody Green)

Well the entire intercession set the Lord was breaking in upon my spirit with a real and deep understanding of the way that our American ideologies, philosophies, perspectives, understandings etc. etc. etc. are so contrary to the way that He moves and what He is calling us into. I began to realize in very significant ways that we in America are building an entire social system that is (in most areas) a direct contradiction to the ideas and understandings the Lord desires to impart to us as Christians.

For the last 22 years I have grown up in a society that builds and fashions and confirms in my mind and soul certain mentalities that I believe God despises.

Fast food mentality
Entitlement mentality
the mentality that says I have rights
tolerance mentality
convenience mentality
pragmatism (if it works it is good, if it is efficient it is good)
humanism (the chief end of all being is the happiness of man)
individualism
independence
democracy
self love
etc. etc. etc.

These are just a few of the ideas that I have nurtured and helped form and have come into deep agreement with in my own life in conscious and subconscious ways.

I began to explore my motives and intentions behind things. I began to examine my commitment to God. I began to take a close look at how devoted I really am to Him. Am I really surrendered? Am I really a bondslave? Is He really my King? Have I really submitted to Him as Lord?

Have I committed to Him every penny in my pocket? Have I dedicated to Him every second of my day? Have I committed to submit? Have I committed to enter into real and pure agreement with His purposes and desires even for my every second? Is it real to me that I am not my own?

It has been very convicting and challenging as I began to really and honestly examine these things. The Lord spoke to me clearly and said that there are many times in my life where I “presume upon the riches of His kindness, not realizing that His kindness is meant to lead me to repentance.” (Rom. 2:4). I have been presuming upon the riches of His mercy, I have been presuming upon the riches of His goodnes, upon the riches of His grace, upon the riches of His patience. How many times do I refuse servanthood? How many times do I shrug it off when God tells me not to spend HIS money on something I want? How many times do I shrug it off when He tells me not to spend HIS time on sleep, recreation, entertainment or anything else? How many times do I feel an urge and refuse it because I think my life is my own?

I believe much of this disobedience is rooted in the ideologies I have been subject to for 22 years living in a culture of ease, convenience, self exaltation, proud and immeditate gratification. The Lord has been calling me to deeper places of real submission to Him. To begin living like a bondslave.

Many Christians may be offended with the intensity of this committment. If all this is what He wants Christianity seems impossible! Of course its impossible people, without His grace! He wants bondslaves.
Paul says to Timothy in 2 Timothy 2:3-4

3Suffer hardship with me, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus.

4No soldier in active service entangles himself in the affairs of everyday life, so that he may please the one who enlisted him as a soldier.

And Peter says 1 Peter 2:16

16Act as free men, and do not use your freedom as a covering for evil, but use it as bondslaves of God.

He is a King and desires bondslaves and devotion to His heart.

We must break away from the agreement we have in the depth of us with the American ideologies and come into agreement with the culture of His kingdom! We must break away from out independence and enter into a real place of submission and obedience.

Let’s give ourselves to Him for real. I don’t want to just sing songs anymore, I want reality.

3 Responses to “Bondslaves”

  1. Jerald Says:

    Wow! This is truly inspiring. You’ve just given a synopsis of my next blog (book).
    Blessings brother.

  2. Mic Says:

    In this American system of blogging, check out what was computer generated at the bottom of your post. The third one says it all!

    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)

    * A Praise and Conviction!
    * The Only Way To Know What The Will Of God Is For Your Life
    * Exercise Your Way to a Better Sex Life
    * The TIME 100

    I too am in this place, almost seems like we’re related;)

  3. Kirsten Says:

    Bud!!! You already explained this to me but reading it really brought clarity to a few points!! I know I am not just meant to hear this..I need to pray about it as a reality in my own life. Thanks bud, for being such a good example for me 😀


Leave a Reply

