Faithful Affliction

July 20, 2009

I have been diving into Psalm 119 for a few weeks now and it has been such a rich time of encounter with the Lord. When you really begin to open it up and ask Holy Spirit for revelation and understanding concerning the psalm, it is impossible to not hear the invitation to deeper places with Him and deeper places of surrender. You see, David (who I believe wrote the psalm) says some very intense things all throughout the 176 verses. For instance, in verse 20 he says, “My soul is crushed with longing after Your ordinances at all times.” Don’t tell me that isn’t intense. How often am I CRUSHED with longing for anything of the Lord much less His ordinances? I don’t have a problem being crushed with longing after the things of this world however. Help us Lord.
I wanna share something that the Lord opened to me while sitting before Him in this psalm.

Psalm 119:67 Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I keep Your word.
Psalm 119:71 It is good for me that I was afflicted, that I may learn Your statutes.
Psalm 119:75 I know O Lord, that Your judgments are righteous, and that in faithfulness You have afflicted me.
Psalm 119:92 If Your law had not been my delight I would have perished in my affliction.

Now as you read those verses I don’t know what happens to you but my heart is opened up in an incredible way. In faithfulness He afflicts us! Why? So we will learn to walk in His ways and statutes! So we will live crushed with longing after His ordinances! You see, God is desiring a people that delight in His dominion over them. He wants a Bride that desires His rule and reign not only on the planet, but in their lives too! Ones that will not just begrudgingly choose slavery to Him and His heart, but ones that delight in submission just like Jesus! Ones that would live their lives COMPLETELY dependent upon His leadership!

Let me give you a picture that has been so powerful to me in understanding this. When a sheep goes astray the Shepherd calls it back. Often times a sheep will continually go astray and begin to refuse the voice of the shepherd much like your dog at home might ignore you calling them or telling them to stop their insubordination. When a sheep continually goes astray the shepherd must do something which might seem a bit harsh not to mention peculiar. He must break the legs of the sheep and carry it on his shoulders. We’ve all seen the pictures of the lamb on the shoulders of the shepherd. Well that’s because its legs are broken! So while the sheep is healing the shepher carries the sheep around continually whispering into the ear of the animal. Training it to respond to his voice. When the sheep is healed and begins to go astray again, the shepherd will call the lamb and it now knows its masters voice and therefore comes. What a beautiful picture this is! I believe that David is talking about that in these verses. He is saying as he did in Psalm 51, “Let the bones which You have broken rejoice!” In faithfulness You have afflicted me O Lord!”
We can give ourselves to the wilderness and barrenness and declare with Job, ‘Though you slay me I will trust You.” when we know that He is breaking our bones to teach us obedience! Jesus learned obedience through the things that He suffered!
Jesus says, “My sheep know My voice.” Well why is that? It is because “in faithfulness You have afflicted me O Lord.”

His leadership is perfect.

One Response to “Faithful Affliction”

  1. Natalie Allison Says:

    Wesley,
    I was just googling a song I heard in the IHOP-KC prayer room back in January, “He brought me to the wilderness where I will learn to sing, and He lets me know my barrenness so I will learn to lean…” and out of everything in the world, the blog of my friend Wesley Huth came up! That was just the bait to get me reading the post you wrote just yesterday, the 20th. Thank you for posting it…I felt the Spirit trying to speak to me through it. It’s something He wants me to stop and understand right now lest I continue on in any offense…all that to say, it was cool how that worked out when I wasn’t even trying to read your blog. Just keep being faithful to post, even when you have no idea who all out there is reading đŸ˜‰ see you later, troll…


Leave a Reply

